Why Project Clean and Lean?


About my love of food

I was brought up in a household where food was a central part of our family – my parents owned a food business and they loved to cook all the time.  I have learnt from the best (my Dad) and I love to cook at home and I enjoy eating well.  As I am from a Chinese background, I love cooking stir fries, soups, meaty dishes, rice and noodles alongside using our favourite ingredients: soya sauce, MSG (woops), salt, animal fats etc etc.  Tasty meals galore!

About my love of going out

I’ve lived the social life a bit, with my twenties working in Advertising and Marketing Agencies in London and going out for drinks after work and eating pizza/kebab/pasty (delete as appropriate) on the way home or sometimes not even eating at all – after all, eating is cheating right?. The next day would be hangover day: stopping by the cafe to grab a ham and cheese toastie, getting crisps and a diet coke on the mid-morning snack run, having hair of the dog after work and the cycle goes round and round. Now, I’m not saying I’m a food hog or an alki, by no means am I irresponsible, just a bit undisciplined.

About my love of champagne brunches

I then moved to Dubai, UAE.  The land of all things expat and living the busy life still.  This time it was champagne brunches and all-you-can-eat five-star buffets. Coupled with this, public transport was non-existent so reliance on driving everywhere was in full force. I’d try and be sensible – no more drinks after work, eating more salads and going to the gym – but because I was hitting my thirties, it wasn’t so easy shifting those additional kilos.

A sudden realisation

In December 2010, my boyfriend of seven years decided I was the woman for him and asked me to marry him – of course I said ‘yes’. As I was planning one of the biggest milestones of my life, I found that I needed to do something about those extra kilos, after all they’d been with me for a while and my clothes were getting a bit snug. I wasn’t getting any younger, I wanted to be fitter, healthier and wake up with a spring in my step (very hard for me as I’m a night owl). I wanted to be slimmer and not worry about the jelly belly boinging around under my clothes. I didn’t want people to give up their seat on the bus because they thought I was pregnant (oh yes..).

How I got to Clean and Lean

As I mused on maybe going on Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, detoxing, yoga, pilates, running, Zumba, getting healthy food delivered, personal training and all those other things that are in vogue, I was introduced to James Duigan’s books ‘Clean and Lean – Flat Tummy Fast!’ and ‘Clean and Lean Diet’.  My friend raved on about it, so I decided to give it a read.  As I read it more, it seemed to make sense, it was a cleaner way of eating, it was cutting out the ‘CRAP’ (his words not mine) and the alcohol, de-stressing and drinking lots of water.  So, I have decided to put some effort into actually living this clean way of life and make myself a guinea pig…all for a good cause – to enlighten the general public who live a similar lifestyle to me as to if it really works and as James put it in his book: ‘Brides are the best people to train because there are few human beings on the planet more motivated to strip fat!’.

Here goes…

One thought on “Why Project Clean and Lean?

Leave a Reply

