Getting out of the plateau


Since my last post, I’ve been doing a lot of research on reaching a plateau in ones diet/exercise.  There are a number of reasons why one plateaus, namely:

1. Lack of exercise variety – when ones body gets used to those workouts and they don’t seem so hard anymore

2. Not realising what you’re eating – having the odd snack because it’s ‘ok’ could become a habit

3. Muscle gain – the scales show the same weight but are you gaining muscle and losing inches?

4. Not understanding your portion size – slipping into eating larger meals

I was getting a bit annoyed with not being able to lose the last 5 kilos so recognised that I was probably doing 1, 2 and 3 (above).  I had a craving for scones (albeit homemade, I still shouldn’t eat a whole batch of them), have been out drinking red wine (with those aforementioned naughty friends in previous post) and stepping on the scales and not losing anything (which is better than gaining) but am still losing inches (slowly) from my waist.

Delicious scones (but not my best friend)

So in order to kick start my system again, I’ve decided to up the ante and go for higher intensity work outs, quit the sweet stuff altogether and show a bit of will power and moderate my boozing (very hard at the moment cos the rugby’s on and I’m partial to a beer when cheering on my team :)).

 

I found a very handy app – the Nike Training one which is fantastic – it gives you different levels of workout (beginner, intermediate and advanced) and different types of training from cardio to toning or targeting certain areas such as the legs, arms or abs.  I did the leg sculptor workout the other day and in the 15 minute session I managed to work up a sweat and not being able to walk the next day – I was using muscles that I didn’t even think I had! Even though I’m a regular runner, I think my legs were getting used to it.  I then did the ab blaster and that gave my stomach muscles a run for their money!  The good thing about the app is that you can also choose to set your favourite tunes to it and instructions are given during the exercise to perfect your form. It has videos to show you how to do the workout and the best thing is that it’s FREE.  Good on you Nike! Fully recommend it.

To be honest, I know why I’ve plateaued, I haven’t been following the diet to its strictest form – I have been drinking, I have had regular treats, I have…shock, horror had a spag bol after 6pm (usually no carbs for dinner).  Oh well, I’d better get back on it – it is all about moderation…!

 

2 thoughts on “Getting out of the plateau

  1. Hannah says:

    Hi!

    I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your experiences with the Clean and Lean diet.

    I work in a office and also have a life long love affair with food and (particularly) wine…. so I am constantly struggling to address the consequences of being inactive for long periods of time combined with the excesses of my two passions!

    After trying (fruitlessly) for the last few months to slim down and toying with the idea of going on the Clean and Lean Diet, I have decided to take the plunge. Today being the first day on the diet, I thought I’d try to find some reviews of the diet on the internet and stumbled accross your blog.

    It sounds like, although challenging, you have had quite a lot of success!

    So again, thank you for sharing your experiences and I look forward to reading about your continuing progress over the next few months.

    Cheers,

    Hannah

    • projectcleanandlean says:

      Thanks for the message – glad you’re enjoying the blog – I started it because I wanted to see if it worked for the normal, everyday person and not just supermodels, so I’m happy that I’m sharing some of my experiences and able to help others in their quest for losing those kilos. Yes, it’s been hard but I’m loving the results – as much as anything, you feel better for being slimmer and healthier and I would say if you are organised and have will power, then you will succeed. Let me know how you’re getting on!

Leave a Reply

