Hello again – the new me?


So it’s been a while since I last posted, but as they say, if you don’t have anything interesting to write about, then don’t write for the sake of it.

That’s exactly what’s been happening with this clean and lean eating malarky; I have been trying to keep up with it and there’s been some good days…and also the bad.

Life has been busy, I’ve moved house, started a new role at work, been fighting a constant cold and generally been staying in a lot more during the winter months.  I’m finding it very cold in the UK and hard to stay motivated!

But no matter, I was starting to get a bit down in the dumps (poor hubby) and felt it was time for a change. I needed a bit of ‘get up and go’ and to stop moping around and generally getting a bit flabby again (jeans too tight – eek).  In the past week, the sun’s been out and I’ve found a new found vigour.

So, I decided this week I wanted to kick start my clean and lean regime again, along with more walking, running and now Hot Bikram Yoga.

The new me

More walking

I’m getting off a tube stop earlier than usual on my way to work – on those days where I can, which is around three times per week.  That’s an additional 0.7 miles/1.1 km per day (3.3kms/week) equating to 56 calories and 168 calories/week (it all adds up :)).  Used this walking calculator to check how many calories I’m burning.

More running

Rather than take the tube all the way to the mainland station connection to home, I am building up to running it most of the way. It’s 5 stops on the tube, equating to one-ish mile between stops. That’s 5 whole miles and I’m aiming to do it twice per week but building up to it over the course of the coming weeks.

So, Weeks 1 – 2 will be 2 tube stops = 1.4 miles/2.25 kms = 139 calories (278 calories/week).  I used this running calorie calculator to work out what I’d burnt.

Hot Bikram Yoga!

I have also started HBY at Hot Bikram Yoga, which has a 20 day pass for £35.  I thought I’d give it a try and as it’s literally minutes from my work, there was really no excuse.  The full time monthly pass is a bit pricey but am considering that the benefits should outweigh the price tag.  Will feedback more on this later.

So that’s my routine nutted out.  It took a while to work out what suited me best and what I wanted to do and I realised that it was hard to make any classes at the gym (too busy and got back too late from work). When I did get home from work I usually couldn’t be bothered to go running or it was cold, windy or rainy (or all three – what a wuss!), so had to incorporate it within my day somehow.

I suppose the key is to try and see how you can make exercise work for you and your day rather than it being a chore! See what you can incorporate within your day?

Image

Leave a Reply

